Creidt card charge from "ROBERT W BERRY" - who's that?
|
darlingm
US (MI) platinum New Poster Total posts: 12 Status: Offline Date of Birth: 81-06-10 Total Earnings: $253.64 |
Has anyone who does trial offers gotten a $4.95 charge listed as something like "ROBERT W BERRY 05633577680 IA"? (IA = Iowa.) Looks like some idiot set up their credit card merchant account under the owner's name instead of the company's name. I've spent at least an hour trying to figure out who this is. Google'ing the name gets no where. My credit card company says this merchant doesn't have a phone number on file. I've looked through the trial offers I've done, and am not finding anything that could be this. Anyone figure out what this is? I've got a support ticket in at the moment to see what happens if I chargeback this transaction and it turns out to be an offer I did. Don't want to get banned from future offers. Don't want to lost more than $4.95 of points/cash on cashle. But these idiots need to bill credit cards under a useful recognizable google'able business name, or provide a phone number like most credit card merchants do. |
|
killking23
US (NJ) gold Senior Poster Total posts: 107 Status: Offline Date of Birth: 93-11-01 Total Earnings: $98.89 |
I think ive heard about someone else having this probelm before but it was a while ago which offer was it? do you know? |
|
darlingm
US (MI) platinum New Poster Total posts: 12 Status: Offline Date of Birth: 81-06-10 Total Earnings: $253.64 |
No, that's the exact problem. I've done a bunch of credit card trial offers lately, and I have spent over an hour trying to figure out who it is, and I'm drawing a blank to someone who should have charged $4.95 at/near the beginning of a trial. If they'd be using the actual company's name, I'd be able to see if it was a legit charge. Now, I have no way of knowing. For all I know, it could be a completely fraudulent charge that I never authorized. As long as I won't get banned from cashle, or banned from the trialpay/peanutlabs/whatever else section it might have been in, I'm going to dispute the charge and yell at whoever takes my points away.. Just on principle. I'm probably going to lose more than 495 points from the offer, but they've pissed me off. Last year, a hair cutting place I've been going to for 15+ years started billing cards under their friend's business' name to save themselves monthly fees. So, the charge on my statement was from a business I'd never heard of, also not listed, no way to find contact information. Charged that back, and at next hair cut he was all pissed. I was really surprised I was the only person to charge it back, when the name wasn't anything to do with hair cutting, and there was no way to contact that business name and figure out who they were. |
|
daus26
US (WA) elite Points2Helper Total posts: 6398 Status: Offline Date of Birth: 90-05-26 Total Earnings: $1859.02 |
Did you try contacting the company? So which offer was it again? Can you look for it in your history? |
|
darlingm
US (MI) platinum New Poster Total posts: 12 Status: Offline Date of Birth: 81-06-10 Total Earnings: $253.64 |
What company? All I have is a line on my credit card statement saying $4.95 charge from "ROBERT W BERRY 05633577680 IA" I assume IA is Iowa. There's no phone number. My credit card company says the credit card merchant doesn't have a phone number attached to it. I'm pretty sure Robert W Berry is the owner's name of the company that billed my card. Searching for the name on google has gotten nowhere. I've never heard this name before. I have no idea what offer it was for. I've done like 25 trial offers lately. |
|
connorconway
UK elite Old Forum User Total posts: 2631 Status: Offline Date of Birth: 92-06-30 Total Earnings: $633.3 |
Robert W Berry owns this company, and is from the US if this helps at all: http://www.rberrylaw.com/Contact.shtml |

